Residency entrance exam
State Examination Center (DİM, formerly TQDK) / Ministry of Health
2 phases, 100 MCQ each, 2.5 h each, paper-based; Phase 1 core subjects pass/fail (valid 5 yrs),…
AZ
Azerbaijan has one well-documented healthcare exam, the residency entrance test run by the State Examination Center. For nurses, midwives, pharmacists and physiotherapists we found no national exam.
Key facts. The one documented exam is the residency entrance test (Rezidentura qəbul imtahanı) run by the State Examination Center (DİM).
Format: two phases, each 100 MCQs in 2.5 hours, paper-based, no negative marking. Phase 1 (core subjects) is pass or fail and valid for five years; Phase 2 (specialty) is competitive.
Eligible: graduates with an Azerbaijani basic medical degree, or a foreign degree after nostrification; third-year students may sit Phase 1.
No national licensing exam was identified for nurses, midwives, pharmacists or physiotherapists. Language streams are not stated on the DİM page; confirm English availability.
Medicine in Azerbaijan is a six-year programme leading to a general medicine degree, taught mainly at Azerbaijan Medical University in Baku and a few other institutions, in Azerbaijani with Russian and English streams. The Ministry of Science and Education oversees higher education and accreditation, and the Ministry of Health regulates practice. Nursing and midwifery are generally taught at medical colleges at diploma level, while pharmacy and dentistry are longer university programmes of about five years.
| Programme | Typical length | After graduation |
|---|---|---|
| Medicine | 6 years | Internship, then residency by DIM exam for specialists |
| Pharmacy / Dentistry | About 5 years | Registration with the Ministry of Health (unverified) |
| Nursing | Medical college diploma | Registration by qualification (unverified) |
Graduates traditionally continue to a supervised internship and, for a specialty, to residency (rezidentura). The documented national exam is the residency entrance test run by the State Examination Center (DIM), a two-phase test whose first phase is valid for five years. We could not verify a separate licensing exam for graduates. English-medium cohorts, which include students from India, Pakistan and elsewhere, study at Azerbaijan Medical University. These graduates generally cannot register in Azerbaijan on that basis alone and must sit their home licensing exam, such as the FMGE in India (its planned successor NExT has been deferred) or the NRE in Pakistan. Check NMC or PM&DC recognition of the course before you enrol.
What distinguishes Azerbaijan is the design of its residency exam. Phase 1 tests core subjects and is pass or fail, but a pass stays valid for five years, so a student can clear it early and spend the rest of their time on the second, competitive phase. Phase 2 covers the chosen specialty field and ranks candidates against each other. Because there is no negative marking, guessing is rational on questions you cannot resolve, which affects how you should train under time pressure.
This is a gateway to specialty training rather than a licence in the narrow sense. It also draws a large non-Azerbaijani audience: Indian and Turkish students on English-medium MD programmes at Azerbaijan Medical University are a visible group.
Administrator. DİM, working with the Ministry of Health, which handles certification of practitioners. The detail of that certification was not verified for this page.
Format. Paper-based. Phase 1 has 100 MCQs in 2.5 hours covering core subjects; Phase 2 has 100 MCQs in 2.5 hours in the specialty field. The scoring is competitive in Phase 2.
Language. The DİM page does not state language streams. DİM usually runs Azerbaijani and Russian sections, so English is not something to assume.
Join the waitlist
We open a question bank only when it meets our question-writing standard. Leave your email and we will write once, when it opens.
DİM's page refers to "medical majors" in a 2011 residency classification. Whether dentistry sits within that list was not confirmed, so we treat dental entry as probably the same two-phase format but unverified. If you are a dentistry graduate, ask DİM which Phase 2 field applies before you invest in preparation.
We found no national licensing exam for nurses or midwives. They are trained in medical colleges and appear to register on qualification. Foreign nursing or midwifery diplomas need nostrification. This is unverified; ask the Ministry of Health for the current registration route.
No licensing exam was identified for pharmacists. Pharmacy residency may fall within DİM's residency classification, but the page did not confirm it. Treat the position as uncertain.
No national exam found; registration by qualification is assumed. Confirm with the Ministry of Health.
| Profession | Exam | Status | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctor | DİM residency entrance exam | Documented | 2 phases, 100 MCQ each, 2.5 h, paper |
| Dentist | Residency exam, if included | Unconfirmed | Probably as for medicine |
| Nurse | None identified | Unverified | Not applicable |
| Midwife | None identified | Unverified | Not applicable |
| Pharmacist | None identified | Unverified | Not applicable |
| Physiotherapist | None identified | Unverified | Not applicable |
Because several rows here are unverified, a short written enquiry saves months. Ask these, in this order:
Keep the replies. Rules in this region can change by decree, and a dated written answer is more useful than a forum post.
The five-year validity of Phase 1 shapes the best timetable. A student in the third or fourth year who passes Phase 1 has the result banked until after graduation and a year or two of residency applications. Someone who waits until after graduation may have to fit both phases into one cycle, with less room to recover from a poor first result. Where the calendar allows it, bank Phase 1 early, then treat Phase 2 as a ranking exercise in which every mark counts.
With no penalty for wrong answers, the best practice is to answer every item. In practice, that means rehearsing a time budget: 150 seconds a question in a 2.5-hour block of 100 is ample, so most candidates should finish a first pass early and return to flagged items. Use that spare time to eliminate options rather than to second-guess answers you were sure of.
The Phase 1 core subjects overlap with the basic sciences taught in the first three years. Candidates who sit Phase 1 early, while the material is fresh, free the final years for clinical work and for Phase 2 preparation. Because the result stays valid for five years, early sitting carries little downside.
Azerbaijani is the official language, and Russian is widely used in professional settings. English-medium MD programmes exist, but the residency exam is not documented as available in English. If you are a foreign graduate planning to practise outside Azerbaijan, the DİM exam is probably not your target; your home-country licensing exam is. If you want to train in Azerbaijan, expect to work in Azerbaijani or Russian during residency.
Try practice questions free
Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.
The residency entrance exam (Rezidentura qəbul imtahanı), run by the State Examination Center (DİM, formerly TQDK). It is the gateway to specialty training.
Two phases of 100 multiple-choice questions, 2.5 hours each, paper-based. Phase 1 covers core subjects and is pass or fail, with the result valid for five years. Phase 2 is the specialty field and is competitive. There is no negative marking.
Graduates with an Azerbaijani basic medical degree, or a foreign medical degree after nostrification. Students from the third year onwards may sit Phase 1.
The DİM page does not state language streams. DİM usually offers Azerbaijani and Russian sections; whether English is available should be confirmed with DİM directly.
No national licensing exam was identified for nurses, midwives, pharmacists or physiotherapists. Registration appears to rest on qualification, but this is unverified; confirm with the Ministry of Health.
Recognition of a foreign diploma by the Ministry of Science and Education. Foreign diplomas for nurses and midwives need it too.
Last reviewed October 2026
Original questions, an explanation for every option, and a mock exam built to the blueprint. One exam per pass, from $30.