OMSB OC exam - General Practitioner
Oman Medical Specialty Board (OMSB) - exams used for Ministry of Heal…
MCQ CBT (Pearson VUE)
OMالعربية
Oman does not run one licensing exam per profession. The Oman Medical Specialty Board sets occupational classification exams that feed into your grade and your licence.
The licensing exam for each profession, from our regulator research. Open one to see what it covers.
In Oman the licensing exam is an OMSB occupational classification (OC) exam.
Medical education in Oman is led by the College of Medicine and Health Sciences at Sultan Qaboos University, with a small number of private programmes such as Oman Medical College and the National University of Science and Technology. The medical degree takes about six years including a foundation year and is taught in English. It is followed by a one-year internship in Ministry of Health hospitals. Nursing is generally a four-year bachelor's, pharmacy a five-year degree, and dentistry a five-year programme with internship.
Higher education programmes are accredited by Oman's academic accreditation authority, while the Ministry of Health licenses practitioners. Specialist training runs through the Oman Medical Specialty Board, which sets residency programmes and board exams for postgraduate doctors. Graduating does not replace Ministry of Health registration, so check the current licensing requirements.
| Topic | Detail |
|---|---|
| Medical degree | About 6 years incl. foundation year |
| Internship | About 1 year in MoH hospitals |
| Language of instruction | English |
| Schools and accreditation | A few schools; national academic accreditation authority |
| Route to licence | Degree, internship, MoH registration; OMSB for specialists |
Many countries use a licensing exam to ask whether you are safe to practise. Oman's OC exams answer a related question: which grade of post does your knowledge match? That is why the list is long. There is not one doctor exam but a general practitioner OC exam plus separate OC exams for internal medicine, surgery, paediatrics, obstetrics and gynaecology, emergency medicine, family medicine and others. OMSB lists 23 OC exams in total.
The outcome feeds employment and licensing in the public sector. OMSB states that the OC exams are required to work for the Ministry of Health and other health institutions in Oman.
The OC exams are aimed at practitioners seeking to work in Omani institutions, including foreign-trained applicants. An exemption or a different route may apply to some experienced or board-certified professionals, but we found no published list. Ask OMSB for the current exemption rules for your qualification before paying for preparation.
Because the exam can be taken at test centres abroad, you may be able to sit before you arrive. The sources we reviewed differ on the test provider, so confirm the centre and provider with OMSB. Primary source verification of your documents, normally via DataFlow, is a separate step with its own timeline.
The general practitioner OC exam is the entry point for most foreign-trained doctors. Specialists take the OC exam for their specialty, such as internal medicine, surgery, paediatrics, obstetrics and gynaecology, emergency medicine or family medicine. Choose the exam that matches the post on your offer letter, since the OC result feeds into your grade.
The exam is a computer-based multiple-choice test. The OMSB page does not state the item count or duration. Read the linked blueprint or content file for your exam before booking.
Two OC exams cover nursing: one for nurses with a bachelor's degree (BSN) and one for those with a nursing diploma. Pick the one that matches your qualification, not your job title. Both are computer-based multiple-choice tests. Sources differ on whether the provider is Pearson VUE or Prometric, so confirm with OMSB.
This is the point to be careful about. OMSB's list of OC exams does not include a midwifery exam. Midwives may be assessed through the nursing route, or case by case, but we could not confirm which. Contact OMSB and the Ministry of Health before you commit to either path. If you hold both nursing and midwifery registration, the nursing OC exam may be the practical route.
Join the Gulf GP Exam waitlist
We open a question bank only when it meets our question-writing standard. Leave your email and we will write once, when it opens.
There is an OC exam for pharmacists and a separate one for assistant pharmacists, so the first question is your qualification level. Format is computer-based multiple choice. The sources we reviewed differ on the provider (Pearson VUE or Prometric), so confirm it with OMSB. Use the OMSB OC page to download the content file for the pharmacist exam.
OMSB lists an OC exam in general dentistry and a separate exam for orthodontists. General dentists sit the first, specialists the second where they apply. Check that your specialty is listed before you plan.
Physiotherapists have their own OC exam. As with other professions, it is computer-based and multiple choice, and the result informs both licensing and grade. The OMSB page links the content file.
| Profession | OMSB OC exam | Delivery | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctors | General Practitioner, plus specialty OC exams | CBT, MCQ (provider: confirm with OMSB) | Exam must match the post |
| Nurses | Nurses (BSN) and Nursing Diploma | CBT, MCQ (provider: confirm with OMSB) | Choose by qualification |
| Midwives | None listed | Not applicable | Confirm route with OMSB or the Ministry |
| Pharmacists | Pharmacists, Assistant Pharmacists | CBT, MCQ (provider: confirm with OMSB) | Choose by qualification |
| Dentists | General Dentistry, Orthodontists | CBT, MCQ (provider: confirm with OMSB) | Check specialty is listed |
| Physiotherapists | Physiotherapists | CBT, MCQ (provider: confirm with OMSB) | Result informs grade |
OMSB does not put the item count or timing on its main page, so you build a plan from what is stated and fill the gaps by asking. A practical order of work:
Booking at a test centre abroad may be quicker than waiting for a seat in Muscat, but confirm the provider, the available centres and the dates for your exam, since specialty OC exams may be offered less often.
The OMSB page does not state an exam language in the section we reviewed. Treat English as the working assumption for foreign-trained applicants and confirm in the content file. Recognition is through OMSB classification and Ministry of Health licensing, backed by primary source verification. We found no treaty or automatic recognition with neighbouring states, so a licence from the UAE or Saudi Arabia does not carry over by itself.
The sources we reviewed conflict on the test provider: some name Pearson VUE and others Prometric. Do not rely on either until you have confirmed the provider with OMSB directly.
Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free
Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.
An Occupational Classification exam run by the Oman Medical Specialty Board. It is computer-based, multiple choice, and used for licensing and grading by the Ministry of Health and other institutions.
At the OMSB National Test Center in Muscat or at test centres abroad. Sources differ on the provider: some name Pearson VUE and others Prometric, so confirm it with OMSB.
Not on OMSB's list of 23 OC exams. Midwives may be assessed through the nursing route or case by case. Confirm with OMSB or the Ministry of Health.
The main OMSB page does not state the format or question count. Content files linked from the page carry the detail for each exam.
No. OMSB runs a general practitioner OC exam and separate specialty OC exams, such as internal medicine, surgery, paediatrics, obstetrics and gynaecology, emergency medicine and family medicine.
Not automatically. We found no recognition arrangement covering the OC exam, so confirm exemption rules with OMSB.
Last reviewed October 2026
Original questions, an explanation for every option, and a mock exam built to the blueprint. One exam per pass, from $30.