Kuwait MOH licensing exam
Ministry of Health Kuwait - Medical Licensing Department
MCQ CBT (Prometric); a secondary source reports 150 MCQ in 170 min
KWالعربية
Kuwait's licensing rules are shifting. One doctor exam is documented today, graduate exams are announced for 2027, and other professions are unclear.
The licensing exam for each profession, from our regulator research. Open one to see what it covers.
Kuwait is changing its system. What you sit today differs from what graduates will sit from 2027.
Kuwait's main medical school is the Faculty of Medicine at Kuwait University, supported by the Health Sciences Center, with a few private or regional options. The medical degree is long, about six to seven years including pre-medical preparation, and is taught mainly in English. Graduates complete a one-year internship, largely in Ministry of Health hospitals, before they can practise independently. Nursing is offered at bachelor's level and in applied-health institutes, pharmacy is a five-year degree, and dentistry takes about five to six years.
Postgraduate training is organised by the Kuwait Institute for Medical Specializations, which runs the national residency and board programmes. Practice requires registration with the Ministry of Health, whose licensing unit assesses degrees and may require an exam for foreign graduates. A Kuwaiti degree is not a licence on its own, so check the current rules.
| Topic | Detail |
|---|---|
| Medical degree | About 6-7 years incl. pre-medical stage |
| Internship | About 1 year, mostly MoH hospitals |
| Language of instruction | Mainly English |
| Schools and accreditation | Kuwait University plus a few others; university regulators |
| Route to licence | Degree, internship, MoH registration |
Kuwait is the hardest of the Gulf states to describe confidently. One exam is clearly documented: the MOH Prometric exam for senior medical grades. A second layer is announced but not yet live. The third, exams for other professions, rests on weak evidence. We separate the three below so you know what is solid.
The documented requirement is for expatriate physicians. The MOH exam page on Prometric names the grades: Consultant, Senior Specialist, Specialist and Senior Registrar for the Senior exam, and Registrar for the Registrar exam. Applicants outside those grades, and other professions, should not assume the same exam applies.
Exemptions are reported to be handled case by case, for example for recognised boards or long experience, but that comes from secondary sources. Ask the Health Licensing Department before you assume either outcome. The department's licensing address is license@moh.gov.kw, and it answers Sunday to Thursday.
This is the one exam with an official page. It is a test-centre exam delivered at Prometric centres worldwide. Prometric links an exam reference PDF for candidates, available from its MOH Kuwait page. The page does not state the structure or duration. A secondary source reports 150 multiple-choice questions in 170 minutes. Treat that as a planning figure until you see the reference PDF.
There are two grade bands. Choose the one that matches the post you were offered: Senior (consultant down to senior registrar) or Registrar.
Reports from the Kuwaiti press and from CLEAR's regulatory news service describe a Kuwaiti Medical Licensing Examination (KMLE) and a Kuwaiti Dental Licensing Examination (KDLE), approved in 2026 and effective from 2027. They would apply to new graduates, Kuwaiti and expatriate, before resident or assistant registrar posts. We could not find an official KIMS page, so the format, content and fee are unconfirmed.
If you are a student or recent graduate aiming for Kuwait, watch KIMS for the official announcement. Do not build a study plan around a format that has not been published.
Join the Gulf GP Exam waitlist
We open a question bank only when it meets our question-writing standard. Leave your email and we will write once, when it opens.
The official e-government service page for public-sector nursing licensing lists documents and experience requirements but no exam step. Prep and consultancy sites say expatriate nurses sit an MOH exam, reportedly 150 questions in 170 minutes. These accounts conflict with the official page, so we cannot confirm the exam. Check with the Health Licensing Department and read the official nursing licence page before paying for any course.
Midwives are licensed under the nursing process. We found no midwife-specific exam. Treat the nursing requirements as your starting point and ask MOH what applies to a midwifery title.
Prometric's MOH page says the Health Licensing Department covers licences except pharmacy, so pharmacists sit outside the route above. We found no public national pharmacist exam. Pharmacists are said to go through an MOH evaluation. Contact MOH directly for the current process.
As with pharmacists, we found no public national exam for physiotherapists, only an MOH evaluation of qualifications and experience. Verify with MOH.
| Profession | Today | From 2027 | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctors | MOH Prometric exam, Senior or Registrar | KMLE for new graduates (reported) | Current exam: official page. KMLE: press reports |
| Dentists | MOH evaluation; Prometric exams may apply | KDLE for new graduates (reported) | Low to medium |
| Nurses | Exam reported by prep sites only | Not announced | Low |
| Midwives | No exam found | Not announced | Low |
| Pharmacists | MOH evaluation, outside the main licensing department | Not announced | Low |
| Physiotherapists | MOH evaluation | Not announced | Low |
Your best next step depends on who you are.
Keep copies of every reply. Where rules are in flux, a written answer from the Ministry protects you if a recruiter or a prep site tells you something different.
The exam language is not stated on the Prometric page. English is the likely assumption for expatriates, but confirm in the reference PDF. Recognition is through MOH evaluation of your qualification and experience, with primary source verification. Reports mention exemption for recognised boards and long experience, but we have no official list. A licence from another Gulf state does not transfer automatically.
Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free
Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.
The Ministry of Health licensing exam, delivered by Prometric at test centres worldwide. There is a Senior exam (Consultant, Senior Specialist, Specialist, Senior Registrar) and a Registrar exam.
The Kuwaiti Medical Licensing Examination and Kuwaiti Dental Licensing Examination, reported as approved in 2026 and effective from 2027 for new graduates. No official format has been published that we could find.
The official nursing licence page lists documents and experience but no exam. Some prep websites report an MOH exam. Confirm with the Health Licensing Department before paying for preparation.
Prometric's page does not state it. A secondary source reports 150 multiple-choice questions in 170 minutes. Check the exam reference PDF.
The MOH Health Licensing Department, at license@moh.gov.kw, Sunday to Thursday according to Prometric's MOH page.
Secondary sources describe case-by-case exemptions for recognised boards or long experience. We found no official list, so ask MOH.
Last reviewed October 2026
Original questions, an explanation for every option, and a mock exam built to the blueprint. One exam per pass, from $30.