Skip to content
Practise free

Gulf GP Exam guide

DataFlow and PSV for Gulf Doctors: What Is Confirmed, What Is Not

DataFlow verification runs separately from the exam and is where time is lost. Here is only what is stated publicly, with the unknowns marked and the questions to ask.

Updated October 2026. 7 min read

DataFlow is named as the primary source verification (PSV) partner on the pages of all seven regulators we checked: DHA, DOH, MOHAP, Qatar DHP, OMSB, NHRA and SCFHS. PSV checks that your documents are genuine with the source that issued them. It is separate from the exam. DataFlow's public pages state few hard numbers: a 5-day report transfer at SCFHS, OMSB and NHRA when no extra documents are needed, and a 35-working-day standard timeframe in an OMSB FAQ. They do not state fees or standard turnaround. For those, ask the regulator. Checked 21 October 2026.

This guide is deliberately short on promises. PSV is the step where candidates lose most time and where the internet is full of confident, unsourced claims. Below is what DataFlow and the regulators actually say in public, what they leave out, and how to organise yourself around the gaps.

What PSV is

Primary source verification means the verifier contacts the institution or authority that issued a document, instead of accepting your copy. For a doctor that usually means the medical school, the licensing or registration body, and employers. DataFlow's own regulator pages describe the purpose in general terms: making sure that only people with genuine, valid qualifications are licensed. The Qatar page is the most specific. It says DataFlow verifies degrees and education certificates and work permits, among other documents including passports, employment certificates, and good-standing and practice-licence documents, and describes that list as non-exhaustive.

Treat that list as a guide to the kinds of document involved. Which ones your regulator requires for a doctor is set in the regulator's own requirements, not on DataFlow's pages. For the UAE that means the Unified Professional Qualification Requirements (PQR). DataFlow's DOH page tells applicants to check the DOH PQR for the right documents for their profession.

Which regulators use DataFlow

RegulatorWhat DataFlow's page saysSpecific details stated
DHA (Dubai)Screens credentials for DHAApply through the DataFlow portal for DHA; track with a case number; Letter of Authorization template available
DOH (Abu Dhabi)DOH's verification partner, doing PSV since 2007Check the DOH PQR for documents; track with a case number; paid premium services described as expediting verification; customer counters at Al Nukhba Center, Crystal Tower, Khalidiya
MOHAPCollaborates with MOHAP to screen credentialsApply through the MOHAP portal; track with a case number; Letter of Authorization template; optional premium services
Qatar DHPVerifies credentials for DHP applicantsCreate and activate a portal account; add personal, education and experience details; provide a Letter of Authorization; review and pay; track; download the report. An existing DataFlow report may be reused and reviewed against DHP requirements
OMSB (Oman)OMSB's PSV partnerReport transfer between Gulf and international regulators; new OMSB report within 5 days if no additional documents are needed
NHRA (Bahrain)NHRA's PSV partner since 2017Good Standing Certificate verification at no extra cost; report transfer ready within 5 days if no new documents; applicants pay NHRA's fees through DataFlow
SCFHS (Saudi Arabia)Authenticates credentials for practice in the KingdomPaths for new application, report transfer and status check; new SCFHS report within 5 days on transfer if no additional documents are needed

The OMSB FAQ adds a boundary worth remembering: it says DataFlow is responsible for conducting PSV only. Questions about the exam go to OMSB, at the address in its FAQ, not to DataFlow.

The process, as far as it is stated

The fullest public step list is on DataFlow's Qatar page. The other regulator pages describe the same pattern in less detail: a portal, a case number, a Letter of Authorization template and a downloadable "How to Apply" guide. Assume the sequence below is typical, then confirm it for your regulator.

  1. Create and activate a portal account. Use the link on your regulator's page on DataFlow, so that the case is tied to the right regulator.
  2. Enter your details. Personal information, education and experience, in the form the portal asks for.
  3. Provide the Letter of Authorization. DataFlow offers a template per regulator. The pages do not explain its requirements, so use the template for your regulator.
  4. Review and pay. The amount is not stated on the pages we checked. The OMSB FAQ says fees vary with the number of documents to be verified.
  5. Track the case. You receive a case number. For applications made on or before 31 August 2024, several pages direct you to a separate status site, dataflowstatus.com.
  6. Download the report when it is complete, and keep it. It can be the basis of a transfer to another regulator.

What is not stated publicly

This list matters more than the one above. On the pages we checked, none of the following is given as a firm figure.

  • Standard turnaround. The only timeframes are the 5-day report transfer and one regulator document. The OMSB FAQ gives a standard timeframe of 35 working days from payment, but the file is undated, so treat it as a historical marker and ask OMSB.
  • Fees. No DataFlow regulator page gives an amount. NHRA applicants pay NHRA's fees through DataFlow; the amount is not stated.
  • The complete document list for a doctor. That sits with each regulator.
  • Whether PSV must be complete before you can book the exam. The order differs by regulator and is not set out on DataFlow's pages. MOHAP's service page lists primary-source verification after the evaluation step.
  • What an exam exemption does to PSV. Do not assume that exemption from the exam removes verification. Ask.
Be sceptical of any page, ours included, that quotes a PSV turnaround in days or a fee in dollars without naming the regulator document it comes from. These figures change, and the pages that publish them rarely date them.

Report transfer and reuse

If you were verified for one Gulf regulator, you may not need a fresh verification for the next. DataFlow's SCFHS, OMSB and NHRA pages say a transfer can produce a new regulator-specific report within 5 days when no additional documents are needed. The Qatar page says DataFlow may reuse a report from another licensing authority, review it against DHP requirements, and ask for additional documents. The conditions matter. "No additional documents" is what makes the 5 days possible, and a regulator that wants a different document set can break that condition.

The practical lesson: keep your report, your case number and your Letter of Authorization templates together, and do not let a verification lapse between regulators if you expect to apply to more than one.

Premium services

Several pages describe optional paid premium services intended to speed up verification. None gives a price or a guaranteed time. Whether to buy one is a judgement about your deadline. Ask the regulator whether the standard route will meet your start date before paying, and note that nothing on these pages says the exam booking changes with a premium service.

A document register that saves time

Whatever the regulator, you will assemble the same core evidence. Build one register before you open any portal.

  • Passport with the name exactly as you will use it everywhere. A mismatch between documents is the kind of thing a verifier will query, so reconcile spellings first.
  • Primary medical degree certificate and transcripts, with the issuing institution's contact details.
  • Internship or house-officer completion proof, with dates.
  • Each registration or licence you hold, with the issuing body, the number and a good-standing certificate where the regulator asks for one.
  • Employment letters for the experience you will claim, on letterhead, with start and end dates and the title you held.
  • Any exemption evidence, such as a qualifying postgraduate or competent-authority certificate.

Dates must agree across all of these. An experience letter that does not match your registration dates is the kind of gap a verifier raises, and a query adds time.

Where a case can stall

These are our reading of how any verification works, not DataFlow statistics. A university that is slow to reply holds the whole case, because the report is issued when the last check closes. An employer that has since closed, merged or renamed is hard to contact. A name that differs between passport and certificate triggers a query. A Letter of Authorization on the wrong regulator's template may be rejected. Each of these is avoidable by preparing the register above and by answering queries on the day they arrive. If a case is quiet for longer than the regulator's stated timeframe, use the case number to ask for the status rather than opening a second application.

Questions to put to your regulator

  1. Is verification required before I can book the exam, or in parallel?
  2. Which documents are mandatory for my title, and which are optional?
  3. Does an exam exemption change the verification I must do?
  4. Can an existing DataFlow report from another regulator be used, and what extra documents will you ask for?
  5. What is the current standard timeframe, and is it measured from payment or from the last document?
  6. Who do I contact if the case stalls?

Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free

Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.

Practise free

How verification fits the exam plan

Because the two run on separate clocks, plan them together. Start PSV as early as your regulator allows, since it is the step you cannot speed up by studying. Book the exam only when your preparation is on schedule, not when a slot first appears. See booking and fees for the exam side, and the comparison guide for the differences between regulators.

Choose a pass for Gulf GP Exam

Basic, Pro and Premium passes for 1, 3 or 6 months. One exam per pass, from $30, no auto-renewal.

See passes

Frequently asked questions

What is DataFlow?

It is the primary source verification provider named on the pages of DHA, DOH, MOHAP, Qatar DHP, OMSB, NHRA and SCFHS that we checked. It verifies your documents with the institutions that issued them, as a step separate from the exam.

Is DataFlow verification the same as the licensing exam?

No. The OMSB FAQ says DataFlow is responsible for PSV only. The exam is run through Prometric or Pearson VUE under the regulator's rules, and exam questions go to the regulator.

How long does DataFlow verification take?

The regulator pages we checked give no standard turnaround. The only stated time is 5 days for a report transfer when no additional documents are needed (SCFHS, OMSB and NHRA pages). An undated OMSB FAQ gives 35 working days from payment as a standard timeframe. Ask your regulator for the current figure.

How much does it cost?

No fee amount is stated on the regulator pages we checked. The OMSB FAQ says fees vary with the number of documents to be verified. Optional premium services exist, with no price shown.

Can I reuse a DataFlow report for another country?

Often in part. DataFlow's pages describe report transfer to SCFHS, OMSB and NHRA and reuse of an existing report for Qatar DHP, subject to the new regulator's requirements and any additional documents it asks for.

Do I need verification if I am exempt from the exam?

Do not assume that you do not. The exam exemption and the verification step are separate, and we found no source that says exemption removes verification. Ask the regulator.

How do I track my case?

With the case number issued after you submit. Several DataFlow pages say that applications made on or before 31 August 2024 are tracked at dataflowstatus.com.

Where do I find the right documents list?

In your regulator's own requirements. For the UAE that is the Unified PQR, and DataFlow's DOH page tells applicants to check it. Do not rely on a third-party checklist.

Start practising for Gulf GP Exam

Original questions, an explanation for every option, and a mock exam built to the blueprint. One exam per pass, from $30.

See passes
Practise Gulf GP Exam Pricing