Skip to content
Practise free

Gulf GP Exam guide

DOH Abu Dhabi: The Doctor Exam, and the Facts DOH Does Not Publish

DOH publishes less than any other Gulf regulator. This guide separates what it states from what prep providers guess, and shows how to prepare anyway.

Updated October 2026. 7 min read

DOH Abu Dhabi tests doctors through Pearson VUE, booked from your TAMM application after DOH Health Professionals Licensing approves it. DOH reports Pass or Fail only. On the pages we checked, DOH does not publish the question count, duration or pass mark for the doctor exam, and it does not publish the fee amount, which you pay in TAMM before the Pearson VUE link appears and cannot get back. This guide lists what is known, what is not, and how to prepare when the format is unstated. Checked 21 October 2026.

What is known and what is not

Most pages about the DOH exam fill the gaps with numbers from prep providers. We do not. The table separates what DOH and Pearson VUE state from what remains unpublished.

Stated by DOH or Pearson VUENot stated on the pages we checked
Computer-based written exam delivered by Pearson VUENumber of questions for the doctor exam
Booking from the TAMM application after approvalExam duration
Pass or Fail reportingPass mark
Fee paid in TAMM, non-refundableFee amount
OnVUE home testing offered for some DOH examsWhether OnVUE is available for the doctor exam
All exams in English, with no translator in oralsNumber of options per question
Some titles also have an oral or OSCEContent weights or a reference list

Different secondary sources quote different question counts for the DOH doctor exam. We do not repeat them. If you need a count, the only reliable place is the confirmation you receive from Pearson VUE, or a written reply from DOH.

The TAMM-to-Pearson path

  1. Apply to DOH. Your application must be approved by DOH Health Professionals Licensing before you can book.
  2. Open the application in TAMM. The reference starts with HPREG or HPACT. Choose Pay.
  3. Pay the fee in TAMM. It is non-refundable, and the amount is shown on the payment screen.
  4. Use the Pearson VUE link. It appears once payment is made. Choose a date and a test centre.
  5. Print the confirmation and check the arrival time and ID requirements.

The Pearson VUE DOH page lists exam@doh.gov.ae and support@doh.gov.ae for questions, and a telephone number, +971 2 666 4442. Use them. A written answer from DOH about format is worth more than any article.

Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free

Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.

Practise free

Home testing

Pearson VUE's DOH page says OnVUE, its online proctored delivery, is offered for some DOH exams. It does not say whether the doctor exam is among them. Do not assume it is. If you plan to test from home, ask DOH and read the OnVUE system requirements before you pay, because a fee that cannot be refunded makes a wrong assumption costly.

Language and orals

DOH states that its exams are in English and that no translator is allowed in orals. For some titles DOH uses an oral or OSCE as well as, or instead of, the written exam. The general practitioner exam is a written computer-based test, and some titles add an oral. Check your title with DOH rather than assume.

Attempts and waiting

Prep sources quote a total of three attempts across the UAE, with a three-month wait after a fail and twelve months after a third. We could not confirm those wordings on a DOH page, so treat them as unconfirmed and ask DOH for the written rule. If you have already tried at DHA or MOHAP, ask how those attempts count.

Who may not need the exam

The DOH Licensing Procedural Manual (Circular 151/2024), as reviewed for our UAE hub, exempts UAE nationals and holders of a valid DHA or MOHAP licence for the same title. Other exemptions follow the Unified PQR. Check your own case first. The exam fee is non-refundable once paid, which makes an unnecessary booking a sunk cost.

Preparing when the format is unknown

Missing information is a reason to prepare more conservatively, not less. Four decisions follow.

  • Pace. Train at 72 seconds an item, the pace of the published 150-item papers. If the real paper turns out shorter, you gain time. If it is longer, you are ready.
  • Breadth. With no published weights, give every domain at least a basic pass and add depth to the largest. The study plan does this.
  • Guideline discipline. Answer from a single guideline family. See high-yield topics.
  • Logistics. Confirm ID, centre and time zone on the Pearson VUE confirmation. A missed slot on a non-refundable fee is the worst outcome that preparation cannot prevent, so plan travel, childcare and leave around the confirmed time, and allow a buffer on the day.
DOH publishes the least of the seven regulators. Our comparison guide shows the gap, and the scoring guide explains how to build your own readiness measure when the pass mark is not stated.

A message you can send DOH

Because the public pages are thin, ask. Keep the message short, quote your application reference, and ask numbered questions so that the reply is easy to give. Send it to the address on the Pearson VUE DOH page, exam@doh.gov.ae.

  1. Which exam is assigned to my title? Quote the title and your application reference.
  2. How many questions, how long and what pass mark? If DOH does not publish them, ask for the sample or candidate guide it recommends.
  3. Is the exam delivered at a test centre only, or by OnVUE as well?
  4. How are my previous UAE attempts counted? Name each regulator and date.
  5. What is the re-sit wait after a fail?
  6. Does my licence or nationality exempt me?

Keep the reply with your records. If DOH changes a rule later, a dated email is your evidence.

Building mocks for an unknown format

When the length is not published, practise at three lengths so that none surprises you: a 100-item block timed at 72 seconds an item, a 120-item block, and a full 150-item sitting. If your accuracy drops between the first and third, the problem is stamina and pacing, not knowledge, and the remedy is more full-length practice. Use the same four-option, one-best-answer item style throughout. Avoid practice material that mixes item types, since you cannot confirm which type DOH uses.

If your title adds an oral or OSCE, ask DOH what it covers and prepare it separately. Orals are in English, with no translator, and test communication and reasoning, which a question bank alone does not train. Practise presenting a case aloud in two minutes, then answering follow-ups.

What the gap means for risk

Everything unstated is a risk you must price. A non-refundable fee means a missed or mistimed booking is lost money. An unstated pass mark means you cannot compute a safety margin, so aim higher than you would for a stated 60%. An unstated question count means your pacing must be flexible. None of this is a reason to fear the exam. It is a reason to book late rather than early, to ask in writing, and to keep your practice conservative. Candidates who do those three things lose the least from the missing information.

How to weigh a claim about the DOH exam

Because DOH publishes little, a lot of pages fill the space. A simple order of trust helps. First, DOH itself: a circular, the licensing manual, a TAMM screen, or a reply from DOH staff. Second, Pearson VUE's DOH page and your own booking confirmation. Third, a prep provider that says it is quoting a DOH document and names it. Last, any page with a number and no source. Anything from the last group is a hypothesis. Treat dates carefully as well: a question count from a page written before a circular was issued may be out of date. If a source is a recall of exam questions rather than a statement of rules, do not use it. Recalled questions are unreliable and they are not a legitimate way to prepare. Our own bank is original and written to the guideline hierarchy, and it does not claim to match DOH items. If a seller advertises the real DOH questions, walk away.

When you find a claim you want to rely on, write down where it came from, the date, and whether a regulator page confirms it. Do that for the format, the pass mark and the attempt rule, and you will have a one-page record that makes any later dispute short.

After the exam

DOH reports Pass or Fail. A pass is followed by verification where it is outstanding, DOH's licensing decision and the employer's steps. DOH does not publish a time for those, so we give none. If you fail, check the re-sit wait and the attempt count with DOH before paying again, because the fee is not refunded and a second payment is a second sunk cost if you rebook too early.

Verification at DOH

DataFlow has been DOH's verification partner since 2007, per its own page. It tells applicants to check the DOH PQR for the right documents for their profession, and it describes a case-number tracker, optional paid premium services and customer counters at Al Nukhba Center, Crystal Tower, Khalidiya in Abu Dhabi. For applications made on or before 31 August 2024 it directs you to dataflowstatus.com. It states no fee or standard turnaround. See the DataFlow guide.

Sit a timed Gulf GP Exam mock exam

Blueprint-weighted questions under exam timing, then a breakdown of your result by domain.

Start a mock exam

Frequently asked questions

How many questions are on the DOH doctor exam?

DOH and Pearson VUE do not state a question count for the doctor exam on the pages we checked. Prep sources quote different numbers, so we do not give one. Check your Pearson VUE confirmation or ask DOH.

What is the DOH pass mark?

Not published on the pages we checked. DOH reports Pass or Fail only.

How do I book the DOH exam?

After DOH Health Professionals Licensing approves your application, open it in TAMM, choose Pay, and use the Pearson VUE link that appears to pick a date and centre.

How much is the DOH exam fee?

The amount is not published on the pages we checked. You pay it in TAMM before the Pearson VUE link appears. DOH states the fee is non-refundable.

Can I take the DOH exam from home?

Pearson VUE says OnVUE home testing is offered for some DOH exams. It does not say whether the doctor exam is included, so ask DOH before relying on it.

What language is the exam in?

English. DOH states that all its exams are in English and that translators are not allowed in orals.

Is there an oral exam as well?

For some titles, yes: DOH uses an oral or OSCE alongside or instead of the written exam. Confirm your title with DOH.

Who is exempt from the DOH exam?

The DOH Licensing Procedural Manual, as reviewed for our UAE hub, exempts UAE nationals and holders of a valid DHA or MOHAP licence for the same title. Other exemptions follow the Unified PQR.

Start practising for Gulf GP Exam

Original questions, an explanation for every option, and a mock exam built to the blueprint. One exam per pass, from $30.

See passes
Practise Gulf GP Exam Pricing