At MOHAP the first question is whether you need an exam at all. You apply through the Evaluation System, pay AED 500 and an evaluation officer decides. If an exam is required, you sit it at Prometric, the pass mark is a minimum of 60%, the result is Pass or Fail, and you have a maximum of three MOHAP attempts, after which you may apply through DHA or DOH. The AED 500 is an application fee, not an exam fee. MOHAP states a service completion time of 5 working days for the evaluation. Checked 21 October 2026.
Most Gulf exam pages begin with the paper. For MOHAP the paper comes second. The Ministry of Health and Prevention licenses health professionals in the northern emirates through an evaluation process, and the exam is one possible outcome of that process, not the starting point. Read the sections in order.
Step 1: confirm that MOHAP is your regulator
MOHAP licenses in the northern emirates. Some emirates have their own health authority, and the UAE attempt rules we reviewed mention SHA, Sharjah's, so ask your employer which regulator licenses the facility where you will work. If it is Dubai, you are in the DHA process. If it is Abu Dhabi, see DOH. Do not start a MOHAP application on a guess. A wrong-regulator fee is the most expensive avoidable mistake in this process.
Step 2: check eligibility in the PQR
MOHAP tells applicants to confirm eligibility in the Unified Professional Qualification Requirements before applying. The PQR sets accepted qualifications, experience and exemptions. For general practitioners, our UAE hub records that non-UAE graduates generally need at least two years of post-internship experience to apply. Treat that as a summary and check the PQR for your title, because requirements change by version.
Step 3: apply, pay and upload
- Apply online in the MOHAP Evaluation System.
- Upload your documents. Use a single scanned set, with names matching your passport.
- Pay AED 500. MOHAP lists this as the physician evaluation application fee.
- Wait for the officer's decision. The service page states a completion time of 5 working days for the evaluation.
The word to hold on to is "evaluation". You are paying for MOHAP to assess your file. Whether the outcome includes an exam is MOHAP's decision.
Try Gulf GP Exam practice questions free
Create a free account and answer sample questions with full explanations before you buy a pass.
Step 4: if an exam is required
When the officer requires an exam, you take it at Prometric. The MOHAP service page describes the exam as auto-scored Pass or Fail with a minimum of 60%. It does not state the question count, time or option count in the pages we reviewed, and we could not find an official MOHAP reference list. So there are two facts to plan around and the rest is the shared clinical core.
| Known from MOHAP | Not published on the pages we checked |
|---|---|
| Prometric delivery | Number of questions |
| Auto-scored Pass or Fail | Exam duration |
| 60% minimum | Options per question |
| Maximum 3 attempts | Content weights |
| AED 500 application fee | Exam fee, if separate from the application fee |
Because the format is not published, we advise training at the 72-second pace used by the 150-item papers, and using full mocks to learn your own timing. That is a conservative planning assumption, not a MOHAP statement.
The three-attempt limit and the fallback
MOHAP allows a maximum of three attempts at its own exam and no fourth. After that, the service page says you may apply through DHA or DOH instead. That sounds like a safety net, but check two things first. The UAE sources describe attempts being counted across authorities, so a MOHAP failure may reduce your allowance elsewhere. And DHA can bar reapplication for two years after a third failure. Use the scoring guide to compare the limits.
The practical consequence is to book your MOHAP sitting only when your timed mocks are stable. See the study plan for the mock schedule.
Preparing the file
The evaluation is only as quick as your file is clean. Before you open the Evaluation System, assemble these and check every date against every other.
- Passport, with the name you will use throughout.
- Primary medical degree certificate and transcripts.
- Internship completion certificate.
- Every registration or licence you have held, with numbers and good-standing letters where they exist.
- Experience letters on letterhead, with exact dates and titles. For a general practitioner post, the experience requirement is part of eligibility, so the letters carry weight.
- Any certificate you believe qualifies for an exemption, with an official translation if it is not in English.
Upload one clear scan per document and name the files in the order the portal asks. An unreadable scan is a reason for a query, and a query costs days.
What each decision means for your next month
| Officer's decision | What it means | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Exam required | You must pass the Prometric exam before MOHAP proceeds | Choose the 12-week plan if you have the time. Book only when mocks are stable |
| Exam not required | MOHAP proceeds on the evaluation | Concentrate on verification and employer paperwork |
| More documents needed | The file is incomplete | Answer within the portal the same day. Do not open a second application |
| Not eligible | Your qualification or experience does not meet the PQR | Ask what would change the outcome. Consider whether DHA or DOH assess differently |
The last row is a reminder that the regulators do not all apply the PQR identically in practice. MOHAP's own service page mentions DHA and DOH as alternatives after three failed attempts, which tells you the three systems are connected but separate.
How three attempts should shape your preparation
Three attempts is a budget, so spend it like one. Attempt one should be a pass attempt, not a diagnostic. Set a readiness bar before you book: stable scores of 70% or above across your last two timed full mocks on original questions, with time errors under control. That bar is our rule of thumb, not a MOHAP figure. If you fail, MOHAP reports Pass or Fail only, so you will not know which domains cost you. Rebuild from your error log and from the domain with the lowest practice score, and allow at least four to six weeks before attempt two. The more your first attempt is used up on a half-ready sitting, the less margin remains for the second.
Keep a record of every sitting, including dates and any regulator that counted it. If you later apply at DHA or DOH, that record answers their first question. It also helps your employer, who may be asked to confirm your status and will want a clear account of where you stand.
What not to do while you wait
- Do not book Prometric before the decision. If no exam is required, a booking is money spent.
- Do not submit a second application to a different regulator in parallel without checking how attempts and fees interact.
- Do not pay a third party to chase the evaluation without reading what they will access in your account. The portal is in your name.
- Do not stop revising. If the decision is slow, use the time for the baseline and the first two domains. Nothing is wasted if the officer then waives the exam, because the knowledge serves you in practice.
Step 5: primary source verification
DataFlow is MOHAP's verification partner. Its MOHAP page describes applying through the MOHAP portal, tracking by case number, a Letter of Authorization template and optional premium services. It states no fee or turnaround. MOHAP's service page lists verification after the evaluation step. Start the document register early so that verification does not wait on you. See the DataFlow guide.
After the evaluation or exam
A pass, or a decision that no exam is needed, does not end the process. Verification follows, then MOHAP's licensing decision and your employer's steps. MOHAP states the 5 working days for the evaluation only. Nothing we could verify gives a time for the rest, so keep your employer informed at each stage and avoid committing to a start date that depends on a licence you do not yet hold.
Moving between emirates
Switching emirates is where candidates lose months. The materials we reviewed for the UAE describe a DHA evaluation being transferable to MOHAP through DataFlow, and DOH exempting holders of a valid DHA or MOHAP licence for the same title. Both are specific and conditional. If you hold or have held a licence in another emirate, say so at the start of your MOHAP application and ask which documents carry over.
Preparing when you do not yet know whether you will sit
You do not have to wait for the officer. If your file clearly lacks something an exemption would need, assume an exam is likely and start. If your file is strong, begin with the high-yield core anyway; it is useful in the job and costs nothing to hold. Use the first four weeks of your plan to cover the domains with the largest weights in the high-yield list, then reassess when the decision arrives.
- Before the decision: baseline test, cardio-respiratory, endocrine and renal domains.
- On a decision that an exam is required: book a date at least eight weeks out, and move to the full plan.
- On a decision that no exam is required: turn to verification, and hold the revision for use in practice.
Choose a pass for Gulf GP Exam
Basic, Pro and Premium passes for 1, 3 or 6 months. One exam per pass, from $30, no auto-renewal.
Frequently asked questions
Does MOHAP always require an exam for doctors?
No. MOHAP's Evaluation System assesses your file and an evaluation officer decides whether an exam is required. Check eligibility in the Unified PQR first.
What is the AED 500 fee?
It is the physician evaluation application fee on the MOHAP service page. It is an application fee, not an exam fee, and it is paid when you apply.
What is the MOHAP pass mark?
A minimum of 60%, auto-scored, with a Pass or Fail result.
How many attempts do I have?
A maximum of three MOHAP attempts, with no fourth. After that you may apply through DHA or DOH instead, but ask how earlier UAE attempts are counted.
Who delivers the exam?
Prometric, per the MOHAP service page.
How many questions are there?
MOHAP does not state a question count or duration on the pages we checked, so we do not give one. Check your Prometric confirmation.
How long does the evaluation take?
MOHAP states a service completion time of 5 working days for the evaluation. Verification follows and has its own timeline.
Is there an official MOHAP syllabus?
We found no official reference list on the pages we reviewed. Prepare the shared clinical core.